## FSL Boys' Lacrosse 1997

This was our second year of Boys' Lacrosse for the Friends School League. The four teams who participated this year were: Academy of the New Church. Friends Central. George School and Westtown.

After the regular season contests ANC was undefeated and in first place, followed by a three way tie for second place with Friends Central. George School and Westtown with a 1-2 record in the league. A three team playoff took place with Westtown gaining a first round bye" and George School and Friends Central played on a neutral field (ANC.) George School defeated Friends Central with a score of 6-3 and earned the right to host Westtown. In a very well and hard fought game that saw both teams tied AT 4-4 at half-time, George School managed to stage a rally and defeat Westtown by a score of 7 -5. On Saturday, George School travelled to the Academy of the New Church for the finals. ANC great offensive power was not to be denied, and ANC won by a score of 11-1. Congratulations the Lions of ANC.

After the selection of the All League players and the coaches began to discuss a concern voiced by ANC's coach as to the viability of a league playoff with league that only consists of four teams. We discussed both the pros and cons just having the regular season determine the league champion. Needless to say consensus was not reached on this issue but they felt we as ADs should look into this situation and see if there might be other alternatives to determine the champion or increase the number of teams in the league.

ΔΙ	П	_ea	a	ΙIΑ
$\sim$ 1		_ca	u	uc

Owen Asplund	Jr.	ANC
Andrew Beech	So.	FCS
Todd Bostock	Sr.	ANC
Colin Cooper	Jr.	ANC
Kabir Green	Sr.	FCS
Darryl Hassen	Jr.	ANC
Ian Henderson	Sr.	WS
Scott Justice	Sr.	GS
Sean King	Jr.	ANC
Nils Marcune	Sr.	ANC

## **Honorable Mention**

Ryan Hardin	So.	FCS
Sean Williams	Sr.	WS
Chris Winther	Sr.	GS

Respectfully submitted, Dave Satterthwaite Commissioner